The best part of fall besides legging and boots has to be the darker lip and nail colors. I had to do a late night Target  run  for cold meds and just before check out I decided on a quick tour of the beauty isle. I came across the Maybellin3 Color Jolt in Berry Naughty. As soon as I got home I put her on, puffy faced, blotchy skin, under eye circles and all. Makeup free and she just looked amazing on.

I started to look through my collection to realize how many berry colored lippies I have accumulated over the last two seasons. Here  and  is a rundown of what is in my current collection and the pros and cons of each

  1. NYC Expert Last Lipstick in Berry Me $2.30 
    This lippy is on the purple side with pleasant light scent.  She is shiny and moisturizing but watch out because the color will transfer as she does bleeds and move around. Lasting power? None. I don’t like the way the color breaks down after a cup of coffee.
  2. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Prague $5.99 
    This is a very lightweight product that does transfer but does not move around the lip. Use lip liner to avoid feathering around the lip line. Comfortable on the lip. Fades evenly. Will hold up through coffee. One of my favorite formulas for the office, I own several of these. Has a nice shine at the beginning, dries matte and fades evenly as you eat/drink.
  3. Maybelline Color Sensational Matte Lipstick in Mesmerizing Magenta $6.99 
    Just as the name implies matte from the start. We are talking about a very comfortable long wearing matte. Blotting cuts down on thetransfer. Color is on the pinkier, opaque side. This color was impossible to find when it first launched last year.
  4. L’Oréal Infallible Pro Matte Gloss in Forbidden Kiss $9.99 
    So this is one of those things of how is gloss and matte at the same time? It applies like a liquid lipstick with a very thick mousse texture. The finishes is glossy but as it dries it is fully matte. The applicator makes it nice to get those sharp lines around the mouth but it also makes it easy to overline the lips. This is not 100% transfer proof, you can definitely feel it on your mouth and it has a scent, even a flavoring that does get into your mouth. This the darkest and most opaque of all of the colors I own.
  5. Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick in Bad Habit $5.00
    This color on the lips is darker than in the tube. Its an opaque very berry mauve color –  my favorite. Dries matte very quickly. This does transfer even after it is completely dry. Almost scent free. Like most Colourpop liquid lipsticks this wears off in the center off the mouth and will crumble with a second layer.  Very pretty with black liner and loads of mascara.This does wear all day through coffee and maybe lunch.
  6. Maybelline Color Jolt Intense Lip Paint in  Berry Naughty $7.99 
    The inspiration for this post! This one is very new to me, like just picked this up last night and already love this. This is a true wine color – I don’t know how else to explain with the right amount of shine and a faint scent. Applies evenly, I will say use a lip liner for those edges because this does have a felt tip applicator. I couldn’t tell you about longevity and how it wears. Hoping for the best with this because I just love this color.
  7.  L.A. Girl Lip Liner in Rasbperry $0.99
    And finally the much talked about lip liner. She is special not just because of the price point but the liner matches all of the items mentioned above. Glides easily on the lips. It is a pencil but I don’t mind because that helps keep the germs out.

Please share with me what your favorite berry/wine colored lipsticks are. Comment below, I appreciate your feedback.

